Faculty and Staff

Administrators | Full-Time Faculty | Part-Time Faculty | Emeriti | Staff

Administrator

  • William Diehl, Ph.D.

    Chair, Education Department Clinical Professor of Education Coordinator of Online Graduate Programs

    (207) 602-2681 | wdiehl@une.edu
    Decary Hall 148A

    Education

    Ph.D. The Pennsylvania State University
    B.S. The Pennsylvania State University

    Expertise

    Distance Education, Adult Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education.

Full-Time Faculty

  • Cindy Altomari, M.Ed.

    Certification and Placement Officer

    (207) 602-2846 | caltomari@une.edu
    Decary Hall 139

  • Audrey Bartholomew, Ph.D.

    Assistant Professor

    (207) 602-2685 | abartholomew1@une.edu
    Decary Hall 147

    Education

    Ph.D. University of North Carolina Charlotte
    M.Ed. Lehigh University
    B.A. University of Maryland

    Expertise

    Secondary transition for students with disabilities; inclusive practices and schools; positive behavior support; effective online teaching practices.

  • Lane Whitney Clarke, Ed.D.

    Assistant Professor Literacy

    (207) 602-2682 | lclarke1@une.edu
    Decary Hall 149

    Education

    Ed.D. University of Cincinnati
    M.A. Rowan University
    B.A. Dickinson College

    Expertise

    Literacy; struggling readers; literacy and technology; course development; literature circles; gender and education.

    Research Interests

    Literacy.

  • Michelle Collay, Ph.D.

    Director, Online Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership

    (207) 602-2010 | mcollay@une.edu
    Decary Hall 140

    Education

    Ph.D. University of Oregon
    M.A. University of Oregon
    B.A. California State University, Chico

    Expertise

    Educational leadership with particular emphasis on the influence of race gender and class on leaders approaches to organizational change.

    Research Interests

    Leadership identity development; the influence of race.

  • Kathleen Davis, Ph.D.

    Associate Lecturer

    (207) 602-2844 | kdavis11@une.edu
    Decary Hall 149

    Education

    Ph.D. University of South Carolina
    M.A. Rowan University
    B.S. St. Francis University

    Expertise

    Higher education administration, women in higher education administration, organizational leadership.

    Research Interests

    Women in leadership roles, leadership issues in pre-service teachers, authentic leaders, True North leadership, Catholic higher education.

  • Pamela S. Flood, Ed.D.

    Visiting Assistant Lecturer

    (207) 602-2683 | pflood@une.edu
    Decary Hall 144

    Education

    Ed.D. University of Maine Orono
    M.Ed. University of Maine Orono

    Expertise

    Leadership development in heart mind and spirit; organizational change; modeling/sharing leadership to facilitate leadership skills among all community members and the development of culturally proficient leaders

  • Susan J. Hillman, Ph.D.

    Professor

    (207) 602-2228 | shillman@une.edu
    Decary Hall 151

    Education

    Ph.D. Indiana University
    B.S. University of Maine-Orono.

    Expertise

    School law; measuring dispositions in pre-service teachers; teacher education effectiveness; math and science elementary methods; social justice mediation.

    Research Interests

    Measuring dispositions in pre-service teachers; trends in teacher education; developing research in the area of mathematics and science pedagogy.

  • Carolyn Marie Marcotte, Ph.D.

    Associate Lecturer

    (207) 602-2242 | cmarcotte@une.edu
    Decary Hall 137

    Education

    Ph.D. Berne University International Graduate School
    M.S. University of Southern Maine
    B.S. University of Southern Maine

    Expertise

    Diversity educator: exploring biases and stereotypes; bullying, harassment, and hate prevention; creating inclusive classroom and school climates; respecting differences; challenging assumptions; critical thinking; teaching strategies for active learning; collaborative leadership; group and workshop facilitator.

  • Heather Dwyer Sadlier, Ed.D.

    Associate Professor

    (207) 602-2566 | hsadlier@une.edu
    Decary Hall

    Education

    Ed.D. University of Maine
    M.Ed. University of New Hampshire
    B.A. University of New Hampshire

    Expertise

    Diversity educator: exploring biases and stereotypes; bullying, harassment, and hate prevention; creating inclusive classroom and school climates; respecting differences; challenging assumptions; critical thinking; teaching strategies for active learning.

Emeriti

  • Michael F. Beaudoin, Ed.D.

    Professor Emeritus

    (207) 602-2685 | mbeaudoin@une.edu
    Decary Hall

    Education

    Ed.D. University of Massachusetts–Amherst

    Expertise

    Distance/online education; adult/continuing education; international education; program planning/evaluation; accreditation; educational leadership.

    Research Interests

    Distance education leadership; transition of classroom faculty to distance teaching; the "Invisible" online learner; supporting distance and face-to-face learners: any significant difference? Diffusion of online education in Sub-Saharan Africa. Since 2004: Two books and numerous articles published in refereed journals.

Part-Time Faculty

  • Darren Akerman, M.S.Ed.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2857 | dakerman@une.edu
    Decary Hall

    Education

    C.A.G.S. University of New England
    M.S.Ed University of New England

  • D.L. Bearden, Ph.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | dbearden@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ph.D. Capella University
    M.A.Ed. University of Phoenix
    B.L.S. St. Edwards’ University

    Expertise

    Charter schools, cyberschools, virtual schools/ worlds, e-Learning design, arts education, and educational technology.

  • Ella Benson, Ed.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | ebenson2@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ed. D. University of Virginia
    M.S.Ed. Old Dominion University
    B.A. Nofolk State University

    Expertise

    Transformative leadership, higher education leadership, classroom management.

    Research Interests

    Rural education, special education issues, the achievement gap, standardized assessments , school climate and culture.

  • Patrick Broncato

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | pbroncato@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • David J. Cannan, M.S.Ed.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | dcannan1@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Donald C. Cannan, Ed.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | dcannan@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Michael Carter, M.A.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | mcarter4@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Carey S. Carroll Clark, Ph.D., RN, AHN- BC

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | cclark14@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ph.D. California Institute of Integral Studies
    M.S. California State University
    B.S. Excelsior College
    A.S. Rio Hondo College
    B.S. Whittier College

    Expertise

    Transformative leadership and change; nursing curriculum development; holistic healing modalities; healthcare systems and healthcare policy.

    Research Interests

    Outcomes from holistic-integral educational experiences with nursing students; creativity; holistic healing modalities; nursing shortage

  • Deb Choroszy, M.Ed.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | dchoroszy@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Erin L. Connor, M.S.Ed.

    Adjunct Instructor

    (207) 602-2692 | econnor@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ph.D. University of Southern Maine (in progress)
    M.S.Ed. Harvard Graduate School of Education
    B.A. Swarthmore College

    Expertise

    Decision-making through consensus; shared leadership models in schools; education policy and leadership.

    Research Interests

    Experiences of Maine high school graduates who require remediation as part of their post-secondary studies.

  • Joanne Cooper, Ph.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | jcooper5@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ph.D. University of Oregon

    Expertise

    Leadership in higher education; reflection in adult development.

  • DeeAnn Cornelison, Ed.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | dcornelison@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ed.D. Argosy University
    Ed.S. Argosy University

  • Martha Corkery, Ed.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | mcorkery@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ed.D Nova Southeastern University

  • Albert Cunningham, Ed.D., J.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | acunningham4@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Karen Deterding, M.S.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | kdeterding@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    M.S. University of New England
    B.S. Eastern Nazarene College

  • Bill Doughty, Ph.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | wdoughty@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison
    M.S. University of Wisconsin-Madison
    B.S. University of Bridgeport

  • Laurel Ellis, M.S.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | lellis3@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Grania Gothard Holman, Ed.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | gholman@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ed.D. University of Alabama
    Ed.S University of Alabama
    M.S.Ed. Auburn University
    B.A. Auburn University

  • Courtney Graffius, M.S.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | cgraffius@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    M.S. University of Southern Maine

  • Michael Hatfield, M.S.Ed.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | mhatfield@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    C.A.G.S. University of New England
    M.S.Ed. University of New England

    Expertise

    Pre K-5 language arts curriculum.

  • Carol Holmquist, Ed. D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | cholmquist@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ed. D. Johnson and Wales University
    M.A. Lutheran Theological Seminary
    B.A. George Mason College of the University of Virginia

    Expertise

    Research and implementation strategies for organizational and personal change .

    Research Interests

    Organizational development and change; systems of analysis and change; impact of academic efficacy on higher education.

  • Kathryn Iwanusa, M.S.Ed

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | kiwanusa@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    M.S.Ed. University of New England

  • Steven Klein, Ph.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | sklein2@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ph.D. Loyola University
    M.S. Temple University
    B.A. Temple University

    Expertise

    School law and gifted education.

  • Tom Kopetskie

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | tkopetskie@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Linda Lacasse, M.S.Ed

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | llacasse1@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    C.A.S. University of Maine
    M.S.Ed. Walden University
    B.S. University of Maine

  • Leon Levesque

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | llevesque3@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Ann Lovejoy, M.S.Ed.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | alovejoy1@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    M.S.Ed. Vanderbilt University

  • Valerie McKenney, M.S.Ed.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | vmckenney@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    M.S.Ed. University of New Hampshire

  • Steven Moskowitz, Ed.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | smoskowitz@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ed.D. Manhattanville College
    M.S. C. W. Post College
    B.S. Crane School of Music, SUNY - Potsdam

    Expertise

    Educational technology, online education, school administration, staff development, school leadership, instructional design, total cost of ownership.

    Research Interests

    Online learning, technology integration, teacher effectiveness, professional development, technology impact in schools, online methods of delivering education.

  • Kelly Mullen Martin, M.S.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | kmullenmartin@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Dave Murphy, Ed.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2857 | dmurphy@une.edu
    Decary Hall

    Expertise

    School Administration; educational leadership; differentiation.

  • Marylin Newell, Ph.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | mnewell@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ph.D. Capella University
    M.S.Ed. University of Southern Maine

  • Brianna Bates Parsons, Ed.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | bparsons4@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    Ed.D. Northeastern University
    M.P.W. Chatham University
    B.A. University of Maine, Orono

    Expertise

    Motivational theory; academic & social integration with emphasis on first-generation; low-income students. Non-traditional students and the role of gender with regard to academic persistence.

    Research Interests

    The influence of gender and socioeconomic standing in relation to academic and personal leadership. Group dynamics and the effect on motivation.

  • Sanford J. Prince IV

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | sprince@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Expertise

    Educational leadership, exceptionality, curriculum and assessment, ATLAS (Authentic Teaching, Learning and Assessment for All Students).

  • Chris Rohde, J.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | crhode@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Expertise

    Special education programs, Section 504 plans, ESL, and Gifted and Talented programs.

  • Justin Roy, M.S.Ed.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | jroy6@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    C.A.G.S. University of New England
    M.S.Ed. University of New England

  • Kelly Samson-Rickert, Ed.D

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | ksamsonrickert@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Expertise

    Workforce strategies, organizational leadership, five generations in the workplace.

    Research Interests

    Organizational development and cultures within organizations, leadership best practices, generational leadership, aging workforce needs.

  • Carole Smith

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | csmith6@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • William J. Smith, Ph.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2631 | wsmith1@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Expertise

    Federal grant writing, leadership in professional education organizations, professional development for all levels of educators.

  • Cathy Steig

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | cjordan5@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Lee Anna Stirling, Ed.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | lstirling@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Expertise

    Collaborative peer coaching; diversity and multiculturalism; project based learning; individual action plans for teachers.

  • Gail Sullivan

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | gsullivan@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Angie Taylor, M.A.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | ataylor8@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Expertise

    Alternative program for at risk students.

    Research Interests

    Collaboration, standards-based curriculum and assessment, the impact literacy on student learning, student portfolios.

  • David Keller Trevaskis, M.S.Ed.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | dtrevaskis@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Expertise

    Peer mediation and conflict resolution education; original trainer for Project PEACE (Peaceful Endings through Attorneys, Children and Educators); bullying, school crisis, mediation, We the People, school law, and sports law.

  • Kimberly Vazquez, M.A.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | kvazquez@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Education

    C.A.G.S. University of New EnglandM.S.Ed. Southern Connecticut State University
    B.A. Albertus Magnus College

  • Margaret Wallace, M.S.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | mwallace1@une.edu
    Off-Campus

  • Thea H. Williams-Black, Ph.D.

    Adjunct Professor

    (207) 602-2692 | twilliamsblack@une.edu
    Off-Campus

    Research Interests

    Differentiating instruction in order to meet the needs of all learners.

Staff